## Positions, shapes and sizes of countries in Eastern Africa.

Study the following map of eastern Africa.



Which countries of Eastern Africa are you able to identify? The countries of Eastern Africa include:



- 1. Sudan 1,886,484 km<sup>2</sup>
- 2. Ethiopia 1,127,127 km<sup>2</sup>
- 3. Tanzania 945,087 km<sup>2</sup>
- 4. Southern Sudan 644,329 km<sup>2</sup>
- 5. Somalia 637,657 km<sup>2</sup>
- 6. Kenya 581,313 km<sup>2</sup>
- 7. Uganda 234,036 km<sup>2</sup>
- 8. Eritrea 127,320 km<sup>2</sup>
- 9. Burundi 27,830 km<sup>2</sup>
- 10. Rwanda 26,338 km<sup>2</sup>
- 11. Djibouti 23,000 km<sup>2</sup>

## **Positions:**

- Eastern Africa is located on the eastern side of the African continent.
- It lies between the Red Sea to the north-east and the Indian Ocean to the southeast.
- The Equator passes through several East African countries.

## **Shapes and Sizes:**

Diverse Shapes: Eastern Africa exhibits a variety of shapes. Some countries are relatively compact (e.g., Rwanda, Burundi), while others are elongated (e.g., Kenya, Tanzania). Ethiopia having a large, irregular shape, Kenya resembling a triangle, Tanzania being elongated, Somalia with a long coastline, and the smaller countries like Rwanda and Burundi having more compact shapes;

Varied Sizes: The region encompasses countries that range significantly in size. Ethiopia is the largest, followed by Tanzania, Kenya, Somalia, Uganda, Sudan (partially in Eastern Africa), then the smaller countries like Djibouti, Eritrea, Rwanda, and Burundi.